Portugal removed from travel green list with seven countries added to red

Jesse Williams

By Jesse Williams

Jesse Williams

3 Jun 2021

Those who made summer holiday plans abroad have had them dashed with Portugal as well as several other counties relegated to the governments amber and red travel lists.

Holidaymakers flying in from Portugal, the only major holiday destination on the 12 country green list, have to take two post-arrival tests on day two and day eight after arriving and self-isolate at home for 10 days.

The Department for Transport (DfT) said in order “to safeguard public health against variants of concern and protect our vaccine rollout”, that the decision had to be made. how long does it take for ivermectin to kill mites in dogs

Along with Portugal’s reduced status the following seven countries are also being added to the red list from the amber list: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Costa Rica, Egypt, Sudan, Trinidad and Tobago, and Sri Lanka.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said it was “a difficult decision” and Portugal was downgraded because the government wants to give the UK “the best possible chance of unlocking domestically” on 21 June. ivermectin 12 mg price 1mg

UK Health Security Agency chief executive Dr Jenny Harries said: “Increases in case rates in the UK serve as a reminder that this pandemic is not over yet and we need to take a cautious approach,”

“Everyone should observe the travel guidance, continue to follow hands, face, space and fresh air, and have both doses of the COVID-19 vaccine when offered.”

The changes will come into effect at 4am on Tuesday 8 June.